Royal Blood – Royal Blood

Royal Blood Royal Blood 2014, Warner Bros, Rock Deezer iTunes
Summary rating from 0 user's marks. You can set own marks for this article - just click on stars above and press "Accept".
Royal Blood
Royal Blood
2014, Warner Bros, Rock
Royal Blood - Royal Blood

The new rock hype comes from England, and is called Royal Blood! And the duo, the trendy line-up (The White Stripes, Black Keys, Death From Above 1979 …) decided that making noise was something fun. And for that, they don’t need guitars. No, just drums and a bass. Mike Kerr (bass, vocals) and Ben Thatcher (drums), who had already made them famous with their EP “Out of The Black”, deliver a powerful rapid album, with a lot of riffs and gigantic outros.

The characteristic of the group is how the bass guitar sounds. Close to what Josh Homme did with his guitars and amps for bass; the sound is heavy but precise, and Mike sometimes makes his instrument sound like an actual guitar. Ben Thatcher pounds his drums and prints a steady pace, but precise throughout the album. The result is a mix where we can hear Led Zep, QOTSA or the White Stripes.

The result is awesome. Really. Short but incredibly intense. Royal Blood crushes you without looking at you, with its big riffs and these epic moments. The voice of Mike Kerr, rather light, is perfect to spice up the mix. “Figure It Out” will leave you without mercy, and this final is epic! To listen without moderation. The album is in the same vein, and for 30 minutes, the recipe will work at full capacity without downtime.

Royal Blood? One of the best of September, and probably the year. These English were there at the right time, and sent a big signal to the Rock’n’Roll world. We look forward to their future.

Track list
1. Out Of The Black
2. Come On Over
3. Figure It Out
4. You Can Be So Cruel
5. Blood Hands
6. Little Monster
7. Loose Change
8. Careless
9. Ten Tonne Skeleton
10. Better Strangers